Getting My Tootsies Wet

If you are a writer – and go on, be brave, say ‘I am a writer’-  Jacqueline Winspear

Very few people know that I’m a writer.  Plenty of people have read my e-mails and snail mail letters.  A few scientists have read the articles I’ve published in journals and magazines, and I’m pretty sure that at least one government agency has read some of the official documents I’ve contributed to.  I wrote some articles for my undergraduate college newspaper, and I’m sure that someone other than my parents read the “What I Did on My Summer Vacation” piece that was published in the Concord Monitor when I was in 6th grade.

The fact that I’m a writer (dare I say novelist?) isn’t a secret I’ve shared with many people.  I’m pretty sure it stems from insecurity.  Sure, I’ve defended a Ph.D. thesis in Chemistry, piloted a plane, and birthed a baby, but the thought of telling someone my BIG secret – that I’ve written a novel, let alone three – is terrifying.  I like what I’ve written, but what if no one else does?  What if I have to face (dun, dun, dun) rejection?

Maybe it’s the book my sister got me for my birthday: A Year of Writing Dangerously with the amazing quote, cited above, on the front cover.  Or, maybe it’s the new grey hairs that pop up on my head nearly constantly (I’m only 33…that’s not old, is it?). Or, maybe it’s a little Sara Bareilles’ pop infusion via Brave.  Whatever it is, I’ve decided to lay it on the line.

I am a writer.  It’s not a hobby.  It’s not a phase.  It’s the next story dying to get out.  It’s time to whip off the floaties and cannonball right in.  I’m done with getting my feet wet.  I am a writer and I want to make a splash.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

