Jam and Bread

Yesterday’s baking extravaganza was a success.  Two loafs of Zucchini Quickbread came out perfectly moist, the Pretzel Rolls paired great with the balsamic vinegar slow cooker pulled beef left-overs and the Pilgrim Bread came out of the oven this morning perfectly crusty and yum, yum, yummy. 

I also managed to get 1/3 of my manuscript edited, and I think I can get the rest done later tonight while the guys enjoy the evening football games.  There isn’t as much red on the page as I’d expected, and I’m not sure if that is a good or bad sign.  I’d like to believe that the three other full-reads I’ve given the draft managed to catch the earlier issues, but I’m also fearing that I’m missing some glaring grammatical issues or plot-fails.

Today I’m going to try my hand at canning.  I have a tote full of jars, pectin, sugar, and spices just waiting to turn into some utterly scrumptious (I hope) jams, jellies, salsas and other assorted preserves.  If it works out like I’ve pictured in my head, it might be time to make a little “root cellar” in the basement to store everything. 

Also thinking about dusting off the first few chapters of a sequel I’d been working on, and giving it another go.  I needed a vacation from the characters a bit…but I think it’s time to bring them home.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

