Vampires do exist…

I’m not kidding.  They do.  And if you’re the parent of a toddler, especially a teething one, you probably have a good idea what I mean.

I want to start out by saying I love my 14-month old son with all my heart.  It’s the most amazing love there is and I thank God every day that I was blessed to be his mom.  The thing is: he’s a little vampire.  It’s true.  All day long he’s smiley and happy and giggly, but come sundown…that’s when the teeth come out.  Literally. 

He’s currently getting some more teeth because the 10 that he has just isn’t enough.  And when the sun starts to sink below the horizon, that’s when they start bothering him.  Almost instantaneously, he gets bite-y.  He chomps on cardboard board books, and his blanket, and teething crackers…and the wayward finger, if you aren’t careful.  Earlier tonight, he left a few chomp-marks on my neck.  At least he didn’t draw blood.

Before he was born, we used to jokingly (but always lovingly) call him Werner Cullen.  Werner came from Werner Heisenberg and his Uncertainty Principle (don’t worry if you don’t get the allusion…it’s a nod to my background in chemistry) — my husband and I decided that we wanted to be surprised by our baby’s gender, so Werner made sense given all the uncertainty.  At the time, I also felt like all my energy was being sapped right out of me, so, of course, we needed to reference a vampire.  And who is more vampirical than Edward Cullin? (Side note: perhaps Dracula, but Werner Dracula isn’t nearly as catchy).
For those of you that are curious, we did not name our son Werner Cullen or Edward Heisenberg or anything of the sort.  He’s named for my husband’s favorite baseball players, but that’s a story for another post.  However, I have to admit that I grinned earlier as I gently pulled his drooly face from my neck.  I couldn’t help but wonder what might have happened if we’d nicknamed him Werner Black, after the werewolf instead.  I have a feeling that we would have ended up with more sleepless nights.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

