Notebooks

I have a confession to make: I have more notebooks and journals than I do shoes.  Some are leather-bound, others are spiral bound, but all of them hold a special place in my heart.  I have a journals that I use to detail my consulting work, notebooks with lists (books to read, books I’ve read, ideas for writing, and cool names that I’ve run across that might fit some future character I’ve yet to dream up), and my all-time favorite: a journal I’ve been keeping for my son since the day we found out we were pregnant.

The other day, I came across a notebook filled with poetry inspired by the works of Emily Dickinson.  I thought I’d share one of my favorites, titled Hope:

If hope is but a ray of light,

     glistening in the dark,

Then satisfied I would be

    for just a tiny spark.

If hope is but slight reverie,

    playing with my mind,

Then chance make it possible,

    Fate be not unkind.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Notebooks

  1. Pingback: Children’s Notebooks | White Canvas Images

  2. Pingback: Notebooks or Journals Part Two | Clarbojahn's Blog

  3. Pingback: Never Poke a Tiger with an Umbrella | Katrina Emmel

  4. Pingback: Let the edits begin | Katrina Emmel

  5. Pingback: Back to School | Katrina Emmel

Leave a Reply

