Good Fences Make Good Neighbours

“Something there is that doesn’t love a wall…” 

I haven’t fully appreciated Robert Frost’s Mending Wall until this week.  It’s one of my favorite Frost poems, and I’ve read it enough that the spine of my Great American Poets:Robert Frost automatically falls open to it.

“But they would have the rabbit out of hiding,/To please the yelping dogs…”

If you’ve been following the blog from the beginning, you know all about our Barking Beagles.  They are great guard dogs: no moving object is safe.  Strangers, other dogs, birds, cars, leaves, grasshoppers, clouds…if it moves, we know about it.  And that’s great when we want guard dogs…but not so great when the UPS guy is trying to deliver a package or they’re outside for a 2 am potty break.

“Oh, just another kind of outdoor game…”

On Sunday, we came home to find a bunch of neighborhood kids riding dirt bikes, four wheelers, bikes, etc. in our side lot…and an unleashed dog running around.  And while I’m all for kids playing outside, three things bother me about this: 1) no one asked us if it was okay to use our property; 2) no parental supervision anywhere; 3) I planted fig trees over the summer, and I’m pretty sure that they didn’t survive the assault-on-wheels.  Perhaps I’d be less grumpy if we were asked ‘please?’, not worried about having to make sure other people’s kids were being safe, and my poor figs weren’t maimed.  Oh, and if I wasn’t concerned that a random unleashed dog would run over to our property and try to fight our dogs.

“…like an old-stone savage armed…”

Maybe I’m cantankerous.  Have I become the cranky neighbor who just wants to be left alone?  I don’t know.  I think I’m just a fan of coming home and being able to relax in my own space.  I’m sure that if we were allowed to have fences in our development – nice cedar privacy, no-peeking fences – things would be…more pleasant.  After all:

“Good fences make good neighbours.”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Good Fences Make Good Neighbours

  1. nick kildahl

    very thoughtful blog entry. i share your lament about your property being abused without your permission. Recently we have had someone writing messages in our driveway gravel! Weird.

  2. Pingback: Good Fences Make Good Neighbors Part II | Katrina Emmel

Leave a Reply

