Friday Fun Facts Version 13.3: The Christmas Edition

I’m feeling a bit nostalgic today, so I thought I’d share some of my Christmas favorites:

1.  Amahl and the Night Visitors: Menotti’s Christmas opera.  The story of a young crutch-laden boy who travels with the Three Kings to visit Baby Jesus.  I first saw it performed live in a small N.H. church when I was ~10 yrs old.  A few years ago, I was lucky enough to see it again in Chicago under the direction of Menotti’s son.  

2.  The Muppet’s Christmas Carol: “All our pens have turned to inksicles.  Our assets are frozen.”  Never gets old. 

3.  “Mary’s Boy Child,” by Boney M.  It’s the kind of song that makes you want to throw on a Santa hat, kick off your slippers, and boogie for Christmas sake.

4. Holiday scents: Is there anything better than the smell of fresh cut pine, warm cookies, and spices?  Well, maybe cutting and trimming the tree, eating the cookies, and tasting the spices, but you get the picture.  Christmas is scent-sational!

5.  Kucios: The traditional Lithuanian Christmas Eve Dinner.  I love how my family has kept up the tradition (you can read all about it here) and I’m excited to share it with my little boy.  I look forward to planning the 12 dishes (one for each Apostle), setting an extra place at the table to welcome Jesus, and sharing a bread-wafer to usher in well-wishes for the coming New Year.  After all the rush before Christmas, it’s a nice way to connect with my ancestors and remember the real reason for the Christmas season.

 

May your Christmas be merry,

And your holidays bright.

May your blessings be many:

Health, happiness, and delight.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

